Office of the New York State Comptroller  
     Home || Press Releases || Audits || Retirement || State Finances || Local Government || Reports || NYC Oversight || Pension Fund

New York State Accounting System User Procedures Manual

Volume Name
CONTROLS AND SPECIAL PROCEDURES
Volume
XI
Date
10/25/04
Section Name
Advance Accounts - Liquidating an Advance
Section
4.0270

      When the need for a Cash Advance ceases, the agency is required to return the money to the State Treasury. Advances that are charged to current year appropriations can be returned by following Steps A & B.  If the appropriation that was originally charged for the advance is lapsed follow the instructions after Step B for lapsed advances.

A. If the advance is intact (cash on hand equals total of the advance on OSC records):

 

1. Prepare a check in the amount of the advance payable to the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

 

2. Prepare a Refund of Appropriation Expenditure (AC 1286) with tails, for the full amount of the advance, as described in Section 5.1100 of the User Procedure Manual, Volume IV, Revenue. All forms forwarded to OSC for processing should reference the name of the advance and the corresponding Cash Advance subledger number.

 

3. Forward the check with the Treasury copy of the AC 1286 to:

Department of Taxation and Finance

Division of the Treasury

PO Box 22119

Albany, NY 12201-21194.

4. Forward OSC copy of the AC 1286 with a Batch Transmittal to:

Office of the State Comptroller

Bureau of Accounting Operations

Revenue Processing Section

110 State Street, 9th Floor

Albany, New York 12236

B. If the advance is not intact:

 

  • Shortage (cash on hand less than OSC's subledger balance) :

 

All shortages, explainable or not, should be included in the   reimbursement

voucher to make the account whole and to bring the account in balance. If the shortage is less than $250.00, documentation explaining the shortage should be submitted to the Director of State Expenditures with a copy attached to the special charge reimbursement voucher. If the shortage is $250.00 or greater, documentation explaining the shortage should be submitted to the Deputy Comptroller - State Services (in accordance with the New York State Accounting System User Procedures Manual, Volume XI, Section 7.0200; Theft/Loss/Misuse of State Assests) with a copy to the Director of State Expenditures and a copy attached to the special charge reimbursement voucher.

1. Prepare a Special Charge Voucher (AC 916) , as described Section 4.1408 of the User Procedure Manual, Volume III, Encumbrance and Expenditures and Section 4.023 of this volume, to replenish the advance for un-reimbursed payments.

2. Upon receipt of the electronic deposit from OSC the advance account will be intact; proceed as indicated in Step A .

 

  • Overage (cash on hand more than OSC's subledger balance) :

Excess funds must be remitted to the state Treasury pursuant to Section 121

of the State Finance Law:

“ .. every state officer, employee, department, institution, commission,

board or other agency of the state receiving money for or on behalf of the state from fees, penalties, forfeitures, costs, fines, refunds, reimbursements, sales of property or otherwise, shall on the first day of each month pay into the state treasury all such moneys received from the first through the fifteenth day of the preceding month and on the fifteenth day of each month pay into the state treasury all moneys received from the sixteenth day through the last day of the preceding month..”

1. Prepare a check in the amount of the overage payable to the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and deposit the check on a Report of Monies received per the instructions in the Revenue Manual, Volume IV, Section 4.1100, Report of Monies Received-Document Preparation. Follow the instructions in Step A.

 

ADVANCES CHARGED TO LAPSE APPROPRIATIONS

Cash returned to liquidate advance(s) charged to lapsed appropriations will

not reduce the receivable on OSC’s records without the proper coding. Agencies must contact the Manager or Assistant Manager of Revenue Processing Unit at (518)474-4018 for coding instructions in order to properly liquidate the advance.

Note: OSC forms mentioned in this section may be obtained from the State Comptrollers website under News for State Agencies.