logo

Date: December 21, 2017

Bulletin Number: 1628

line
Subject December 2017 Minimum Wage Increase for Hourly Employees

Purpose To inform agencies of OSC’s automatic processing of the December 2017 minimum wage increases for hourly employees and provide instructions for payments not processed automatically.

Affected Employees

Employees in hourly positions who meet the eligibility criteria.
Background Chapter 54 of the Laws of 2016 increased the New York State minimum wage for employees in non-governmental positions.  The Director of the Budget establishes the pay rate for State seasonal and other non-statutory positions paid using an hourly rate.

In accordance with the following bulletin the minimum hourly wage is being increased as noted:

Division of the Budget Bulletin G-1038 (issued December 13, 2017) authorizes the minimum hourly wage be increased for seasonal and other non-statutory positions to $13.00 for State employees whose job location is within the five boroughs of New York City (NYC), $11.00 for State employees whose job location is within the counties of Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester or $10.40 for State employees in all other job locations excluding employees of the City University of New York (CUNY), of the State University of New York (SUNY) and of the State University Construction Fund. 

Effective Date(s) The December 2017 minimum wage increase for hourly employees will be processed using the following effective dates and check dates:

Pay Cycle/Pay Period Type

Effective Date

Check Date

Administration 21 Current

01/11/2018

01/24/2018

Administration 21 Lag

01/11/2018

02/07/2018

Administration Extra Lag

01/04/2018

02/07/2018

Institution 21 Current

01/04/2018

01/18/2018

Institution 21 Lag

01/04/2018

02/01/2018

Institution Extra Lag

01/11/2018

02/15/2018


Eligibility Criteria Employees with a Pay Basis Code of HRY on or after the appropriate effective date and an hourly rate less than the amount provided on the chart below.

Agency

Minimum Hourly Wage

Other (job location outside of NYC)

$10.40

Other (Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester county)

$11.00*

Other (job location in NYC)

$13.00*

*The increase to $11.00 for employees whose job location is within the counties of Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester or $13.00 for employees in NYC will not be automatically processed. It is the agency’s responsibility to process these additional increases, as appropriate (see Agency Actions).

OSC Actions OSC will process the December 2017 minimum wage increase as follows:
  • If the employee meets the eligibility criteria and has a Payroll Status of Active, Leave with Pay or Leave of Absence on the appropriate effective date, OSC will automatically insert a row on the employee’s Job Data page using the appropriate effective date and Action/Reason code of Pay Rate Change/CRT (Chg Rate) and will increase the employee’s hourly rate to the appropriate rate as indicated on the above chart.
Agency Actions – Beginning Pay Period 22 for Employees Within the Counties of Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester or in NYC Agencies must process the additional increase to $11.00 for employees whose job location is within the counties of Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester or $13.00 for eligible employees whose job location is NYC.

Agencies must submit a Pay Change on the Job Action Requests page using the Reason code CRT (Chg Rate) and the appropriate effective date as indicated on the above chart. 

Agencies must update all subsequent effective dated rows provided the employee remains in an eligible position.

Agencies that use the New York State Electronic Personnel System (NYSTEP) for compensation adjustments, however, must enter these adjustments through NYSTEP if the rate frequency of the position is less than the appropriate amount indicated on the chart above.  Further, agencies should ensure that the employee’s job location is accurate in NYSTEP, especially for those individuals whose job location is within the counties of Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester, or in New York City.

Note:  If an employee’s job location changes to a location with a different minimum wage in effect, the agency must update the employee’s rate to reflect the appropriate rate for the new location.

Questions Questions regarding this bulletin may be directed to the Payroll Earnings mailbox.