Skip to Content

Login   Subscribe   Site Index   Contact Us   Google Translate™

NYS Comptroller


School Districts in Stress: Fiscal Years Ending 2017

The Fiscal Stress Monitoring System and resulting fiscal stress designations rely on data (as of 12/31/2017) from ST-3 reports submitted by school districts to the State Education Department.

This list (sorted in order of fiscal stress score) reflects a fiscal year end date of June 30, 2017.

School district information for the fiscally dependent districts (Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and Yonkers) will be incorporated into the scoring of their respective cities.

Significant Stress
Greater than or equal to 65% of total points
NameCountyEconomic Development RegionFiscal Score
East Aurora Union Free School DistrictErieWestern New York73.3
Eldred Central School DistrictSullivanMid-Hudson Region65
Moderate Stress
Greater than or equal to 45% of total points
NameCountyEconomic Development RegionFiscal Score
Cortland City School DistrictCortlandCentral New York58.3
Rhinebeck Central School DistrictDutchessMid-Hudson Region56.7
Sandy Creek Central School DistrictOswegoCentral New York51.7
Schenevus Central School DistrictOtsegoSouthern Tier51.7
Harpursville Central School DistrictBroomeSouthern Tier50
Norwich City School DistrictChenangoSouthern Tier48.3
Eastport-South Manor Central School DistrictSuffolkLong Island46.7
Susceptible to Fiscal Stress
Greater than or equal to 25% of total points
NameCountyEconomic Development RegionFiscal Score
New Hartford Central School DistrictOneidaMohawk Valley43.3
De Ruyter Central School DistrictMadisonCentral New York40
Port Chester-Rye Union Free School DistrictWestchesterMid-Hudson Region38.3
Evans-Brant Central School DistrictErieWestern New York36.7
West Seneca Central School DistrictErieWestern New York36.7
Hudson Falls Central School DistrictWashingtonCapital District35
Marathon Central School DistrictCortlandCentral New York33.3
Richfield Springs Central School DistrictOtsegoSouthern Tier33.3
Otego-Unadilla Central School DistrictOtsegoSouthern Tier30
Niagara-Wheatfield Central School DistrictNiagaraWestern New York28.3
North Bellmore Union Free School DistrictNassauLong Island28.3
Wyandanch Union Free School DistrictSuffolkLong Island28.3
Corinth Central School DistrictSaratogaCapital District26.7
Long Beach City School DistrictNassauLong Island26.7
Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville Central School DistrictMontgomeryMohawk Valley26.7
Oxford Academy & Central School DistrictChenangoSouthern Tier26.7
Springville-Griffith Institute Central School DistrictErieWestern New York26.7